Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

New to 3D and boards =)

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
soulstice polycounter lvl 9
Hey guys, I'm an art student who is going to be learning 3D in my upcoming term. So recently I've been reading some tutorials online and decided to take a dive into creating my first model. So here it is.

As you can see the model looks a bit weird in the render, I'm not really sure why there is weird shading around the eye sockets and mouth. Hopefully someone can point out my ignorance on this subject, as I'm still trying to absorb everything. Thanks!

firstmodel.jpg

Replies

• DarthRevanII
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DarthRevanII polycounter lvl 18
    you have those wierds edges because of the smoothing, i dont have a lot of time to explain that but maybe someone else can, but you have to change smoothing groups in different areas

Also, you have a lot of horrid edges. The bridge of the nose between the eyes for example, what you have made there is two faces that do not resemble a square or rectangle. You can't have faces like that, it helps in causing awkward shadings. Every face is actually divided into two triangles, and in your case, it just so happens the line dividing the two "triangles" goes intobetween the bottom right and top left vertice
    However, if thta wasn't the case, there would be an edge going from the bottom left to the top right vertice, causing it to break the surface of the mesh, causing an ugly shade. Along with this, *****NEVER**** everrrrrrrr, have a 5 sided face/poly. They are bad! >:O, and that's what you've created :P. It's ok smile.gif just fix it (cut another edge from the bottom right to the top left vertice's), and for the other side of the face, vice-versa