Home General Discussion

DHSS dubbed woman a 'Malingering Parasite'

polycounter lvl 19
Offline / Send Message
Gmanx polycounter lvl 19
A woman here on the Isle of Man was sent a letter from the DHSS (Social Security Office) in which she was called a parasite and accused of drug abuse!

http://www.iomtoday.co.im/news?articleid=3009642

I can understand that officers get frustrated with individuals who are clearly milking the system... but this is a nightmare. I can remember having trouble at my local social security office in the UK when I was a student, particularly in the summer holiday period.

Anyone else have any DHSS (DSS) horror stories?

Replies

• danr
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    danr interpolator
    ah, the good old DSS. First they lose the H, next they'll be losing the D ...
  • Frankie
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Frankie polycounter lvl 19
    Do you think she was a drug abusing benefit parasite?
  • Rick Stirling
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rick Stirling polycounter lvl 18
    Well, she *WAS* from the Isle of Man
  • Joao Sapiro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joao Sapiro sublime tool
    The letter stated: 'Due to new budgetary constraints we are no longer able to fund malingering parasites such as yourself. There are far more important things for the DHSS to spend money on rather than street drugs and cheap cider.

'Such as people in genuine need and those who require medicines available only through prescriptions, rather than from a dodgy geezer hiding in a back alley.'

i laughed so hard !
  • ElysiumGX
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ElysiumGX polycounter lvl 18
    I wonder if the letter is right, and they're only apologizing to avoid bad press.
  • warby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    warby polycounter lvl 18
    isle of men ???? wtf someone care to explain ?
  • Gmanx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Gmanx polycounter lvl 19
    [ QUOTE ]