Home Technical Talk

Help with max script please

polycounter lvl 19
Offline / Send Message
TorQue[MoD] polycounter lvl 19
Ok, I'm not even sure that you need max script to do what I want to achieve so I'll start by explaining that.

Basically, I want to render out several max files as avi with pre-set render options such as compression etc.

The idea is that I can set up all the scenes perfectly, and then run the script or whatever program when I go to bed and not have to wait for all of the scenes to render, manually load the next one and continue add nauseum. There are more than 20 scenes I need to render.

I looked online for Batch rendering tutorials or freeware software and couldn't find any, so I looked to max scripts.

I found a script for rendering files to jpeg, and thought maybe I could adjust it for avi, but I've never used max script before. This is the code I am currently using <font class="small">Code:</font><hr /><pre>file=getfiles "$scenes\Brutal\Trailer\*.max"
for f in file do (
LoadMaxfile f
outPath = getFilenamePath f -- can be "F:\\Brutal\\Trailer\\"
render f framerange:#active outputFile:(f+".avi")
)</pre><hr />

The problem with this code is that its grabbing the max files and rendering them out, but when it finishes rendering, I'm left with a file called "filenamehere.max.avi" and neither windows media player or VLC will recgonize this as a proper avi file so all I get is a blank screen.

If anyone could help with this it would be greatly appreciated.

Replies

• monster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    monster polycounter
    When you add f+".avi" you are adding ".avi" to the end of the complete filename and extention. Also, I don't think it was working because you have an extra f after the word render. I also added a check to make sure the max file loaded properly.

This seems to work for me.

<font class="small">Code:</font><hr /><pre>file=getfiles "$scenes\Brutal\Trailer\*.max"
    for f in file do
    (