Home Technical Talk

Texture Artist and Assets

Maddness
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Maddness polycounter lvl 11
I'm curious. I like environment modeling, but I enjoy texture art more, and I usually get more inquiries about my texturing than my modeling ability.

Are texture artists still common? and also what's the best way to obtain assets, besides modeling them myself?

Replies

• Ryno
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ryno polycounter lvl 18
    As an environment artist, I need to model, UV, and texture. For a lot of common objects, the modeling takes up maybe 20% of my time, the UVing maybe 20%, and the remaining texturing might be 60%.

Lots of people can model. Not everyone can UV well. Being able to hand paint realistic textures, as well as color correct and salvage poor photosource, you'd be golden.

I'd hire a mediocre modeller with great texture skills over a great modeller with mediocre texture skills for an environment art position.
  • Rhinokey
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rhinokey polycounter lvl 18
    a 3 dicked monkey can be taught to model well enough to do most enviroment art. where the real tallent of a enviro artist comes from is his/her ability to uv those in ways to make the most use from as few textures as possible , and then to make those textures to where they look as if god himself reached down from the heaven and painted them himself.
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    It's not difficult to model basic environment stuff in low-poly (like Ryno and Rhinokey are saying) - certainly much easier than doing a low-poly humanoid character, but I agree with Per, there are certain types of environment stuff (particularly more recent, highpoly-baked things) which are much more taxing on a modeller, although I think it's still true that texturing makes up the majority of this workflow, although a good highpoly bake with materials can save a lot of time on this.