Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Figure drawing

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Zephir62 polycounter lvl 12
I've always had a natural knack for drawing but I never practiced - maybe once every few months at most. Last month, however, I decided to get serious about it to complement my 3D skills. Since then I've spent about 30 minutes every day drawing and occasionally taking a peak at my "Atlast of Human Anatomy for the Artist" book by Stephen Peck(great book!).

Today I picked up my dusty 4x6 tablet that I never ever use and decided to give it a try. And damn are these things hard to get used to! Any how this is what I've come up with so far today after an hour:

feat.jpg

Personally I really like how the torso and chest came out, but the legs and arms look sort of off. Also, I am new to this whole coloring and lighting thing so tips would be helpful. I'm hoping for some crits since I know you guys rock at giving them smile.gif So what do you think?

Replies

• EricElwell
    Offline / Send Message
    EricElwell insane polycounter
    I think you might benefit from focusing on forms with only line work. Color can be fun, but from the looks of it, you need to work more on your anatomy and basic line work before. Personally, I feel that speed is the key. If it takes you an hour to nail down forms, then cut back on the amount that you are trying to do. Use a pencil, block out shapes, and move on to a new character/pose. You'll be surprised how fast you'll learn and grow as an artist. A great book on basic quick forms, and really just drawing in general is Fun with a Pencil by Andrew Loomis. which I found here:
    http://basangpanaginip.blogspot.com/2006/01/fun-with-pencil.html

This leans more towards cartooning, but the principles will help you break down shapes before you try to do too much.
  • Zephir62
    Offline / Send Message
    That's a pretty good book Eric smile.gif Thanks. I've tried the shape method before though and it doesn't work for me.