Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Mythic Tomb - Michael R.

www.michaelremy.com

Thanks for checking out my post because this is my first time posting anything on a forum ever.

Well recently I applied at EA Mythic but the portfolio I submitted lacked fantasy genre art. So I decided to make a Tomb from Mythic's Warhammer game to show my versatility, and I wanted to get some creative criticism on it. Can you guys help me out?

I'm trying to keep it under 3,000 triangles and right now the model is currently at 2,705, but I still need to model the door trim and knob, and make the roof look staggered from the tiles. I'm also gonna make some planes for the Ivy.

For the texture's I plan on using four 512 x 512.(Brick, Roof and Rocks, Ivy, and Details) All will be hand painted in photoshop.

This is where I'm at right now, what do you guys think so far?

Mythic_Tomb_Concept.jpg
Tomb_01.jpg
Tomb_02.jpg
Tomb_03.jpg
Tomb_04.jpg
Tomb_05.jpg
Tomb_Brick.jpg
Tomb_Details.jpg

Replies

• The Umbrella Man
    So far you have stuck pretty close to the concept which is good, but the brick texture is way too clean and is not tiling too well along the edges, you might want to look at that. Aside from that the modeling looks pretty good.

Also it looks like you mirrored the door in the flaty, if you plan on modeling the door knobs that fine, but not so much if you plan on texturing them on, I wouldn't mirror that if I were you.
  • Mansir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mansir polycounter lvl 18
    Pretty cool looking so far!

First off, put some tongues in them thar gargoyles! Nothing says warhammer like a good tongue..

Second, with the skulls in the alcoves, the ones in the back that are receded, I think are pushed a bit too far back. It loses the illusion of being a pile. Bring that puppy out a little more (not so dark) , and hopefully it'll look a little better.

Also, I like the skulls you modeled and plopped atop for a little more random look.
  • Cubik
    Options