Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Desert Scene

First time posting here, was recommended by a friend who comes here alot. I am working on a full desert scene, low poly, normal mapped, and spec mapped, so that I can get used to more recent advances in tech and what not. This is my first attempt at normal mapping, and I used the photoshop plugins to make the normal. I am actually toying with the idea of making my models in mudbox, since I can make a better normal that way. Anyway, enough jibba jabba, heres what I have so far. Please critique and rip apart.

DesertScene.jpg

I have a ways to go when it comes to texturing by hand, so any help you guys can offer would be excellent.

Replies

• StJoris
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The cactus looks pretty good, but the stone has severe stretching. It basicly looks like you slapped a photo on. Perhaps you should draw a concept of how you want to the rock to be, and hand paint the shading, then overlay with photos if you want photos in badly.
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I think the texture on the rock is fine, but you need to go back and work out your unwrap job.

You're off to a good start but far from a usable asset. I would suggest that you add some smaller rocks, alpha grass, maybe even a small cactus around the base of the rock and cactus to help them blend into whatever scene you put them in.

Wires and texture sheets if you can post em would help me, help you with your unwrap job =)
  • Em.
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Em. polycounter lvl 17
    Hey there umbrella man, I agree with Vig, texture on the rock is fine, it's issues with the unwrap that's killing it..but you know that. Really like that cactus, it's fun. Take a second look at the unwrap and keep at it. Update! smile.gif
  • The Umbrella Man