Home Technical Talk

High poly to Low poly workflow problem question

Hey guy's I'm fairly new with sub-d and I have run into a problem I can't figure out. I scuplted my mesh in mudbox for all the organics on my guy, because previous attempts to do the hard surface in mudbox was a disaster and frustrating. So I planned on doing the organics then transferring the mesh from mudbox to max 8, doing the hard surfacing, then baking the texture to a low poly. Well the mesh I'm trying to transfer from mudbox hits around 2 million polygons, and max runs out of memory like 10 seconds into importing the .obj. One thing I'm curious about is if I'm doing this process all wrong and maybe I should start over. Or if there is maybe another program I should try for better sub-d, I heard XSI is pretty good. How would you guy's go about this?

System specs for memory sake:

1gb Ram
80 HD
Nvidia Geforce 7600GT
AMD Athlon 64x 4200+

Thanks!

Replies

• Rob Galanakis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Just export a much lower-poly version of your model (a couple hundred thousand tris will do... if you have a 2 million poly mesh, try the 250k version, I wouldn't do higher). BTW, I would get some more RAM if you are going to do more sculpting. The error msg you are getting is because you are running out of RAM (zbrush wouldn't even let you export... Mudbox allows you because it uses the HDD). Try xNormal (thread in this forum) to get your actual normal maps.
  • snap.crackle.pop
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    snap.crackle.pop polycounter lvl 18
    Same thing for me, 3ds max tends to shake beyond the 1.5 million poly bar for everyone factory default, so more ram is your friend. And also notice that Mudbox files are sometimes 120 megs, which means that every bit is sealed on your HHD and not cloging your Virtual mem.

have fun
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message