Home Technical Talk

problem exporting to md2 in milkshape

Hi all,

I'm new to these forums so I'll introduce myself. My name's Dean, I'm 22 from England and I'm a student studying Video Game Development.

I've been given an assignment to create a small rally game, part of this assignment is to read in a variety of md2 files. As there doesn't seem to be too many of these floating around for free nowadays I decided to make my own.

I'm using milkshape as it seems to be the easiest way to export to md2 and also it's got a handy free trial that seems fully functional. I'm trying to create a billboard to go up around my track.

I've created the object and created a texture file and then used the texture coordinator thingie to map this onto the object. However when I try to export it to a md2 file I get an error saying "Found vertices's with no bone! No animations are exported!" and it fails to make the md2 file. So I added a joint to the model and assigned it to all the vertices's (as I've no need for animation in this model). But now when I try to export it I get "Warning: No md2.qc found!", this then crashes milkshape, a md2 file is created but when I load it into my game, it appears as just one, misshapen polygon with no texture.

I've looked around on google and cant find any explanation of what an md2.qc file is and if indeed that is my problem.

Can anybody help me? Any response given is really appreciated.

Thanks for reading my ramble, smile.gif
Dean

Replies

• jgarland