Home Technical Talk

To carry on in XSI or switch now?

MRFlynn
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
MRFlynn polycounter lvl 18
Hey all Ive always wanted to do game animation/animation and ive run into a problem.

At the minute im in my 3rd year of University, about to undertake my personal project (demoreel/short), do you think it wise to switch to either Maya or 3DMax for my last 4-5 months? (bare in mind the UK game scene uses what mostly? im at loss!)

I only ask this because Ive been hunting around and sending emails off to certain companies near Manchester regarding what they use and if they mind me using xsi to animate. The responses havent been thrilling to say the least.
So far I know of one company (Lionhead) who use XSI but there all the way to the south so should I just carry on and hope more follow suite by time I graduate? Or cut my losses now and learn as fast as possible something else for game animation?

Im at my wits end ><

PS if anyone is from Swordfish Manchester / Blade Interactive Manchester a headsup would be appreciated.

Replies

• EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Never assume the industry will just move in a particular direction thats convienint to you, if you need to learn multiple programs to increase your chances of getting a job then of course you should.
  • thomasp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    the problem you run into is that usually animation is closely tied to the game engine format used. therefore, the program used for animating forms the backbone of the pipeline in most cases and cannot be switched easily. transferring animation into their software usually means lot~s of trouble that is simply not worth it, especially when you deal with the more complicated rigs of today.

it is rather trivial however, to model/texture with whatever package you prefer and then convert into the format used by the package that is used for setup/animation/export.