Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Keen's Progress

Hey guys,
So I'm brand new to modeling and texturing and what your looking at is my first unwrap ever. I love it though! I want to get a lot better so I'm hoping to get some tips and tricks here. Anyways, critique the crap out of this thing. Thanks! grin.gif

Crate.jpg
Texture.jpg

Replies

• rooster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rooster mod
    the crate looks nice, but unless you're planning on baking lighting giving everything unique uvs is a bit wasteful. you could make a couple crate side variations and use them, but you dont need 6. you could probably use decals for the stickers too to save space.
  • Thegodzero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thegodzero polycounter lvl 18
    You only needed 4 of those sides. the ones in the bottom corner mover together then save that out and adjust the uv's to match and youl have a sexy model.
  • Mongrelman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mongrelman polycounter lvl 18
    Looking good, but as rooster said, you don't need to give each side seperate uv space, especially since it seems you are using the same texture for a few sides, just rotated.

You can just stick those sides on the same bit of texture, and rotate the uvs for particular sides to get the same effect.
  • Jesse Moody
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jesse Moody polycounter lvl 17
    Very sexy box. Listen to what has already been said and you can bump up the res even more. By using decals you can easily make quite a few different variations of this thing quickly. Even changing the tint or adding some color to the boards around the edges would make this look different.
  • D4V1DC
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    D4V1DC polycounter lvl 18
    Here:
    texturepc2.jpg