Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

i am new at this : \

hello to everybody, i am new here, which means that i am also kinda new at maya, so basically here is my piece
it is a feudal japanese kitchen, so reference are a bit hard to come by :\

as people can see that i am playing around with light fog and other stuff, any critics at all would very appreiciated http://img259.imageshack.us/my.php?image=screenshot1so9.jpg
http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/2214/screenshot2nr4.jpg

Replies

• genuine90
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    i also noticed that the lighting makes my objects looks edgy, i am guessing normal mapping is needed
    can people teach to make good normal map and light fog?
  • Kin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kin
    Nice room, I like how it is full of different props and how by doing so makes it very interesting. I'm not an expert in lighting, so I don't know if it is the render or anything, but the beam of light seems a little strong. Great start overall. Are you going to add more little details so there are a few surprises for people who take the time to look at everything?
  • genuine90
  • noritsune
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    noritsune polycounter lvl 17
    hey - you're off to a good start!

there's a few things I would suggest to fix right off the bat.

- your objects (barrels, urns) still have hard edges. Since I see you're using maya, select the object in question, then go to Edit Polygons > Normals > Soften/Harden Normals (I am guessing at the titles here) and choose All Soft. As you get more comfortable with that tool, you can soften or harden individual edges. Learning to do that is an excellent way to get more bang for your polygonal buck.
    don't think that normal maps will solve this problem - adding normal maps to a scene is a significant decision and will change a lot of your process. I'd leave them out, since it looks like you're just starting out.