Home Technical Talk

need hints on modeling a human head

Smuphix
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
Smuphix polycounter lvl 17
hi, I am new to organic modeling and I am trying to model a human head using a photo reference. At this time, I am on a deadpoint, where I see many errors on the model, but don't actually know how to fix them. I would really apreciate any critics and hints on this.

also, I'd like you to point out my biggest errors on this model. Just to compare if I see them or not.

thanks very much!

reference:
reference.jpg

meshsmoothed model:
smoothed.jpg

wires:
wires.jpg

Replies

• Japhir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Japhir polycounter lvl 16
    the edgeflow is really good i think, can't see anyting bad really (i thought the mouth was a bit too wide but then i saw the reference...)
  • Spacey
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Spacey polycounter lvl 18
    I think setting those ortho's on image planes and lining them up with the model will show most of the problems off. Here are a few biggies I spot:

-Shape and fullness of the lips
    -Brow is practically nonexistent
    -The end of the nose looks too big while the rest tappers to the brow too sharply
    -Shape of the eye (lids, tear duct, fat folds over eye, etc)
    -Please take time eventually to model the ear proper. It may not look like it, but it's loads of fun being this bizarrely shaped object.

As for fixing it, just keep tugging at verts until it looks right grin.gif

Also, it looks like you mirrored the face over (in the reference). Humans are asymmetrical so having a "perfect" face looks odd. The mirroring also causes some features to become distorted (nose skinny, lips, chin). I'd suggest after this pass you model his left side from the unmirrored reference to break the symmetry.
  • Bronco
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bronco polycounter lvl 18
    I think this is pretty good.
    Nice meshflow and definatily a very promising start.