Home Technical Talk

Rigging 101

polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
Smirnoffka polycounter lvl 17
Sorry if this has been posted before, I did a search and couldnt find anything..
I was just wondering if anyone knows where to start with rigging, eg tutorials and stuff. I have never done any before, and would like to get into it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks smile.gif

Replies

• gavku
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    gavku polycounter lvl 18
  • Smirnoffka
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ahhh, sorry, should have posted that. Using MAX 7.
  • animatr
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    animatr polycounter lvl 18
    the max 7 tutorials will get you a pretty good head start into rigging. It goes through wiring up custom prarmeters and such. I'd start there personally. It will take you a long time to go through those tutorials anyway. I belive FatAssain on this board has a webpage that also has some max riggin stuff.
  • Smirnoffka
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hehe, didn't even think of looking there. Thanks man laugh.gif
  • Joao Sapiro
  • Psyk0
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Psyk0 polycounter lvl 18
    Don't believe what Johny sez!
  • SkullboX
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SkullboX polycounter lvl 18
    [ QUOTE ]
    the max 7 tutorials will get you a pretty good head start into rigging. It goes through wiring up custom prarmeters and such. I'd start there personally.

[/ QUOTE ]
    Max's help files are great and provide all the tutorials and information needed, though I wouldn't worry about wire parameters just jet. First learn how to create a basic bone skeleton, then learn how to apply Inverse Kinematics (to 'lock down' feet, and arms if you prefer that as well) then finally learn how to skin (as in, attaching the model to the skeleton).