Home General Discussion

IM stuck

snake85027
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
snake85027 polycounter lvl 18

Im stuck right now. I am no concept artist by any means or even a 2d artist so I use other peoples concepts to go by but because of the lack of good 2d skills I believe its hurting my textures. I want to be a 3d modeller but I know the only way I will get into games is if I become a better texture artist.

So Im just asking for advice. Should I start getting better with texturing by comming up with my own concepts or keep on using concepts from game companies?

Replies

• rooster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rooster mod
    I don't think it matters where you get your concepts as long as you keep making models and textures
  • ElysiumGX
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ElysiumGX polycounter lvl 18
    find concepts, or

learn2paint

there are many ideas I want to create in 3d, but the whole project suffers if I don't have a nice concept to work from. so I'm taking the time to focus on 2D more to improve the quality of my 3D. it's good to know if the project will fail before you spend too much time deleting polygons. i will say that learning to paint in traditional styles while improve your ability to paint textures. I mean...it's painting...duh. If you're just starting out, don't try for ultra realism. It's just a waste of effort. Start simple and work your way into more detail. Learn colors and light.

learn be too worried about what companies are looking for. just do your best.
  • fmnoor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fmnoor polycounter lvl 17
    what's wrong with real world references for models? Tons of great scenes out there waiting to be modelled.
  • ElysiumGX
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ElysiumGX polycounter lvl 18
    I assume he's referring to character modeling.
  • fmnoor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fmnoor polycounter lvl 17
    Sorry, I was directing that to the OP~