Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Environment Portfolio Site- lookin for crits

Hi all, I am an environment artist currently lookin for my first job in the games industry, so I figured I'd post up my porfolio site and see if anyone could give me some tips on what to improve.

The URL is: www.kellywaters3d.com -

All I have on there for now is my reel as well as my resume, but i intend to add an image gallery in the near future.

Replies

• Thegodzero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thegodzero polycounter lvl 18
    we need pictures not video
  • JDinges
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JDinges polycounter lvl 18
    It looked pretty cool but the streaming video I watched is really low quality and ruins any details you may have. It hurts you more than helps.

Get those stills up!
  • cholden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18
    Definitely get your Gallery up.

The old west environment is ok, but I was hoping to see more. Resume even spoke of racing game art.

Are these all photo-made textures or do you do any hand painting? How about normal maps?

Take out Domino’s Pizza from your resume. On a lighter note, because it word-wrapped for me I thought it said “Pizza Delivery and Customer”
  • captaincanuck
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ok thx for the crits. So I was lookin at your gallery there Thegodzero and I noticed you got watermarks over all the textures, is that something I should consider. Im gonna get that gallery up as soon as possible, not much time to spare around now, but soon after the new years.
  • Thegodzero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thegodzero polycounter lvl 18
    As long as its not like this one.
    http://www.tgz3d.com/images/CBtex.jpg

Its always a good idea have your name or website on your work. That way if your work gets posted or saved by someone else they will know who made it. And it stops people from claiming your work as their own.
  • Rick Stirling