Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Boat. Big Boat.

Ott
polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
Ott polycounter lvl 13
Hey all....long time lurker first time poster. cool.gif

Here's a couple screenshots of my latest WIP. Aside from being mostly a giant research project, its also for my Senior Project at school. The main source of reference has been the HMS Surprise, as seen in the film Master and Commander. Lucky for me, it's currently parked at the Maritime Museum here in San Diego.

My intention is not an actual 100% reproduction of it (this is my first attempt at modeling a ship) but rather a ship "mostly close" that would be believable in size, scale, functionality, etc.

A few hundred pics, sketches, web searches and hours later, here's where I am atm.

I am very interested in any sort of feedback you might have to offer. I can also provide more detailed shots of the deck, as I have lots and lots of those...but for the overall look, here she is:

HighRes1

HighRes2

Note:

Please ignore the current gunports on the side of the ship. They are very rough for now and will be adjusted soon to improve accuracy and spacing etc. I just had my "Technical Advisor" beat me over the head about the spacing being all jacked up crazy.gif

Also note - high res renders for the sake of the size and scale of this piece.

Some of many references:
Reference1
Reference2

Looking forward to hearing from you!

blush.gif

Replies

• notman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    notman polycounter lvl 18
    wow, I think it looks great. I'm sure people are going to want to see the wires though wink.gif

It could definitely use some of the ropes/rigging though. I know it's still WIP, so I'm sure you plan on adding that later.
  • kiril0t
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kiril0t polycounter lvl 12