Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Rhino

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Soccerman18 polycounter lvl 18
I kinda realized that I've been doing this stuff for several years and I have yet to get a model in game. I've done textures, models, even a few had both, but none had made it past that. So my plan was to make a model, texture it, learn to animate it, and get it into UT2k4 (I don't want to deal with normal maps yet). Big project (at least for me) but I want to get something completed.

The idea I had was a big armored heavyset Rhino (original huh?). I figured it'd fit in well with the game, the armor bits could be separate objects so I wouldn't have to worry about deformation as much, and hopefully would be an interesting model.

But I'm having a real hard time with the concept, and not having drawn anything for over a year is not making things look any prettier. I can see it in my head, but I can't get anything down that I'm happy with.

I'm really embarassed to show this, but here's what I've got going so far for the concept. I did everything separate and kinda pieced it together to show here.
conceptF.jpgconceptS.jpg
The arms are actually showing the back of the arm, and there's no hands, and not much of a head, and the side view of the thigh is copied from the front.

I tried starting the model to try scaling things and changing it up a bit.
legwipr.jpg

I kinda like how the lower leg is turning out, but I'm not too excited about the rest, and the whole thing lacks the beefyness I was trying to get.

Any suggestions on how to make it better?

Replies

• Goober