Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Lineage 2 Dark Elf Fighter

Hi, here is my first lowpoly normal mapped character. Ive modelled it after a wallpaper from "Lineage 2 chronicle 5" and ive tried to model it as close as possible to the image.

Character Polycount: 6170 tris.
Textures: 1024x1024, Color, Specular, Normal. 256x256, Hair.
Software: Maya, Zbrush and Photoshop.

Sword Polycount: 396 tris.
Textures: 512x512, Color, Specular, Normal, Glow
Software: Maya and Photoshop.

Since im fairly new to lowpoly im quite sure that theres certain things that could be done better or "smarter" so please dont hesitate to bash* uhm.. criticize the model. =)

All images are cropped screen grabs from the Maya viewports taken at 8xFSAA, no post-processing.

Full_char_front_Back.jpg

Reference Image
Sword Closeup
Character T-pose

Highpoly:
Sword closeup 1
Sword closeup 2
Armour closeup
Legs closeup

Visit my homepage for more pictures and 360 spin: http://www.martinocheng.com

Replies

• animatr
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    animatr polycounter lvl 18
    awesome work. i think the face still needs some work. It looks like it's a little to flat in the front, especially under the eyes.
  • Thegodzero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thegodzero polycounter lvl 18
    He needs alot of love given to his diffuse and spec textures to bring him to life. the normals look good but the other maps let down the model.

examples of where he needs it would be the head, you have no tonal variation up there, in the ref hes got black makeup around his eyes, yours doesnt. The metal over all doesnt look like metal at all its wayyy too clean so put some grime on there and push it with a good noisy spec map. same goes with the cloth, just make the spec there none.

you have a great model, but its not done.
  • noritsune
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    noritsune polycounter lvl 17