Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

new mod asset

polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
oobersli polycounter lvl 17
just finished a ooo so wonderful asset for a ww2 mod I'm a level designer for. I'm sorta having to give the rest of the team a idea of the style the mods going to be. My first somewhat successful high poly projection model using the projection modifier in max. Its 280 polys, and I may crunch it down by 20 or so. Any crits or ideas on what to add or change would be great.

finalrendercs3.jpg
finalrender2sn4.jpg

Replies

• Jarrod1937
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jarrod1937 polycounter lvl 15
    i guess level designer implies prop modeler these days?
    i like it, the texturing looks a little generic which is fine if you're going to be using a lot of these, but i think it would looka bit better with some unique texturing detail. and yeah, 280 polys is a bit much for it, but it shouldn't be hard to reduce the polycount.
  • aniceto
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aniceto polycounter lvl 18
    the metal isnt very convincing, looks more like concrete with the spec cranked up. tone down the normal bump on the metal a bit, it looks like its been coroded after sitting in the ocean for a few years smile.gif
  • JDinges
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JDinges polycounter lvl 18
    Looks way too monochormatic, add some pretty colors in there. Or atleast make the metal and siding different colors.
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    If you're going to do the same asset as someone, atleast make sure you texture it as well =D
    http://boards.polycount.net/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=154024&an=0&page=1#Post154024
  • hawken
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    hawken polycounter lvl 19
    you could make that from 12 polygons and a normal map.

I swear to you, no-one would ever notice.
  • odium
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    odium polycounter lvl 18