Home Technical Talk

starting a new character model.

Jarrod1937
polycounter lvl 15
Offline / Send Message
Jarrod1937 polycounter lvl 15
I just joined the forums and am going to be starting my new character for illusion of destiny (my game in the making). i am hoping to get critiques and advice as i model and texture him.
so far i am mainly just an environmental artist however recently i have picked up character modeling. below are my attempts at modeling so far.
1.) 1st ever attempt at a human.
2.) My second attempt at a human, a terrorist type character.
3.) My third attempt, supposed to be a nazi type character, at one point i thought this was good....
4.) my latest attempt at a human, this is a medieval themed soldier and we also have his head..
the tools i have are 3ds max 7, zbrush, and photoshop cs. although i just recently bought zbrush so i am a complete noob with it.
the limitations i have with it are not too low at all. i can have a max of 5,000 polys.
the character i am wanting to do is a mage-type human guy with a robe on that possibly has a few tears in it. i will more than likely be making it lowpoly at first them taking it itno zbrush and subdividing it and working from there for the high poly normal map generation mesh.
i'll be starting ti tonight, hopefully i can count on getting all of your opinions as i am making the model.
thanks.

Replies

• Wells
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Wells polycounter lvl 18
    Be sure to put it in the P&P section for feedback and critiques.

right off the bat, i'd say the photosourcing is a little blaring.

looking forward to seeing your progress on this.
  • Jarrod1937
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oh ok, still new to these forums and didn't know that the P&P section is for critiques, i'll be sure to do that.