Home Collaboration & Unpaid Work

New Project looking for Contributions.

Ok so I have a sci-fi project that I would like to start on. I'll spare you the details of all the ground-breaking features and the usual "awesomnest game of all times ever"

I am no artist(not a good one anyway). I can't draw concepts, I can't model. I have a semi-fleshed out story, ideas for characters, and some solid gameplay ideas and am working on implementing them into the game engine I plan on using for the project.

So my question to you guys is. What can I do or show you, to get your attention over all the other "Free Projects"?

Replies

• Joao Sapiro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joao Sapiro sublime tool
  • Shay
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    My point exactly.
    What is a non-artist going to show?

Our plans are to create a tech demo of the combat and character progression system to kick off the project. If someone could play a demo, ignoring the placeholder art, would that be enough to show that we are serious, and attract some artists?
  • Cubik
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cubik polycounter lvl 18
    Yes.
    A working game - graphics + decent gameplay = way more than what 99% of the requests here have or ever will have.
  • aesir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aesir polycounter lvl 18
    Heres the type of thing that attracts inexperienced artists: "We're making the most ambitious gaming experience ever created in the history of man"

Heres the type of thing that attracts more experienced game artists: "We're making a small, simple game with some very cool gameplay mechanics. We don't need too much art, but we want it all to be very polished."

Everyone making these game projects seem to freakin over ambitious. You plan out a game that needs so much art that it would take a professional team of 10 working full time, 2 years to make. You want my advice? Come up with a very cool, polished, SIMPLE, idea.
  • Shay
    Options