Home General Discussion

Advice on computer sales

PfhorRunner
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
PfhorRunner polycounter lvl 18
So I just got off the phone with a friend of mine who's looking to buy my current computer. The specs are as follows:
AMD 64 4000+ 2.4ghz
ASROCK Dual-SATA2 mobo
2 gigs Corsair Value RAM
XFX Geforce 6800GT
LiteOn P.O.S. CD Drive
Seagate Barracuda 160 gig HDD
Coolermaster Centurion Case
Antec 550W Power Supply

Totals: About $886
(Prices used from Newegg 10-10-06)

Now, I'm currently a college student, so money isn't quite all there, but recently I have acquired a hefty sum (around $800) of free-to-spend money by doing some yardwork. And was thinking about buying this:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
2 gigs Corsair XMS2 RAM
Asus SLI mobo
EVGA Geforce 7950GT
Seagate SATA2 120gig HDD
650W Power supply
Some $70 antec case
Cheapo CD/DVD drive

All this totaling about $1310.

Now, I told my friend I'd sell my computer for around $800 if I were going to sell... so 1310-800=510. $510 for this uprade. Would it be worth $510 to upgrade to this machine? or should I wait another couple months to a year to upgrade (by which time there might be less of a chance of selling)?

More Info:
I'm really only using this for excessive gaming, and some artwork every now and then, but its 2d and doesn't take much speed. Like I said, im a college student, and I'm just getting settled into my routine, and don't have much time for gaming, but looking at these upcoming ones has yet again peaked my interest.

Also, any upcoming game suggestions? =P

Replies

• chathog159
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    i like my compaq
  • PfhorRunner
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the awesome advice.
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message