Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portrait's need some work.

Oddmind
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
Oddmind polycounter lvl 17
Hey everyone,

I'm fairly new to the digital art world, haven't used much color until I bought photoshop 9. I'm not that good with a regular pencil either but I'm trying to get better and I can't do that all by myself.

Heres 2 recent works i've done. I'm asking for critiques and helpful hints or links you can show me that will help me fix the problem.

Any help is appreciated, i really want to get over painting like garbage. I also realize that everyone has there own style, but before I develop mine seriously, i need the basics down.

choicol.png

danny.png

Replies

• Neo_God
    Offline / Send Message
    Neo_God polycounter lvl 18
    First off:
    [ QUOTE ]
    Any help is appreciated, i really want to get over painting like garbage. I also realize that everyone has there own style, but before I develop mine seriously, i need the basics down.

[/ QUOTE ]
    That is great! I mean, fucking great! I hate it when people use style as an excuse for the lack of actual ability.

Now for digital painting, I have found that this tutorial is very well done, and fills you in on lots of good ways to go about certain aspects of digital painting.
    http://itchstudios.com/psg/art_tut.htm

Now a critique:
    The shape is there, it's just that they're coming off very undefined and rather muddy. Also very flat, there's hardly any shading in those two, there also don't seem to be any highlights at all. You also have very limited color in them, that could be a by choice, but you need to get some more color variation. Human skin has a plethora of various pigments in it. This should help a little. I can't remember who originally gave this to me, but it was given to me by someone here...
    skincolor.jpg