Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

8FtSpider's Landmate......

polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
Jeremy Wright polycounter lvl 17
I'm an Architectural Engineering Technology student who's fallen in love with 3D. I take every opportunity to work in 3D as opposed to CAD drafting, but I'm fairly proficient at CAD (its just not as interesting). I started modeling a suit of powered armor with a program called SketchUp just to fool around. I recenly got to take a VR class that used the Unreal Engine and that was really cool (most of the lamebrains in the class were to dense to make heads or tails of it, but I did ok; I was the only student in a class of 40 to have doors that opened and an elevator that went up and down, not a big deal, but I was happy). I'm doing an internship right now, and then I graduate, but what the hell am I going to do for a living; I don't see myself as a CADmonkey, I'm really hoping I can turn my love of 3D into a career, but I have a lot to learn.

Anyways, here are some images of the model I've been working on. I call it the Peacekeeper; its a powered exoskeleton in the tradition of Shirow's landmate (minus the slave-master arm system, which I think is a danger to the pilot). Been working on it as well as a slew of other sci-fi and military models in my spare time for about a year...

tmap04.jpg tmap02.jpg tmap01.jpg

tmP02.jpg tmpeacey02.jpg tmpeacey01.jpg

That's how it started out. I started with primitive shapes: blocks, cubes, cylinders, and so forth and refined them over time. After working for a while, I render an image, print it, and then redline where I think changes need to be made. Here's where I am now:

Lm02.png Lm01.png tm01.png tm02.png Lm04.png Lm03.png G01.png