Home Technical Talk

Unreal 2k4 Art Specs <new question about weapons>

heypza
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
heypza polycounter lvl 17
Hi all,

Complete noob here, and basically I'm involved in a project that's got me taking a crash course in the mod scene. I'm going to be working a project called GameFlood, which is an offshoot of Turbosquid.com. It's not public yet, but it's going to be heavily focused on the PC mod scene.

Sorry if this is a repeat post (couldn't find anything similar). Can anyone help give me an idea of what a good idea of minimum art specs for UT2k4 assets would be? I found this on the Epic website, but I'm guessing it's a little dated:

<font color="yellow">Here are the guidelines we used in building content for Unreal Tournament 2004, one of the most recently shipped Unreal Engine 2 games. Different genres of games will have widely varying expectations of player counts, scene size, and performance – and PC capabilities increase over time, so these specifications should be regarded as one data point for one project rather than as mandatory specifications.
§ Characters: Our typical characters contain 2000-3000 triangles, and are mapped with one texture in compressed DXT1 or DXT4 format at a typical resolution of 512x512 or 1024x1024.
§ Bones: Typical characters have 30-60 bones.
§ Typical static meshes typically contain 300-3000 triangles, and are mapped with one texture of resolution 512x512 or 1024x1024.
§ Environments: Typical environments have 150-300 objects in view, for a total count of 50,000 to 150,000 triangles in view.
§ Terrain: Height maps are typically 128x128 to 256x256 in resolution; typical terrain has 4-10 alpha layers.
</font>