Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WW2 small scene

Misanthropy
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
Misanthropy polycounter lvl 17
Hello all...

sorry about me posting a link to another forum...but that forum is easier I can load up my stuff directly on the site ; O but in return I find the critics to be not so helpful.

There are bunch of pictures, just scroll down.

I am problem with lighting...really! Or rather to start off I am a student of AI-Burnaby and I feel totally shafted...not because the instructors suck or anything but the layout of the courses are poor. For example we don't really have a course on RIGGING, or perhaps lighting or maybe even compositing wow! And I now must seek help from people like yourself who have experience in these areas.

It is really hard to start off from nowhere, someone must show me that small light so I can go beyond! I think my real large problem is the lighting here or perhaps other things? The textures on the soldier is quite weak, I am gonna fix that too. My school is on a spring 'break' currently, and of course that is not a break. I will see what can to do improve the stuff at home if I can.

The characters themselves are around 7.5k triangles with the equipment attached to them...without it the character itself is around 3000. The soldier is on a 512x512 page, the weapons seem a little more detail than they need to be but for this piece I will leave it so theres some good close up shots. And there are around 10 + equipment all of these are sharead on 2 512x512 texture pages

Here is the link:

http://www.3dkingdom.org/index.php?name=...791ac4babb4c377

My graduation date draws near every day! Ahh...so any comments and critics are very helpful!!

Replies

• hawken
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    hawken polycounter lvl 19
    it's rather bad form, I can't be bothered to click on the link wink.gif

There used to be a thread to free image hosting, not sure where thats gone.
  • Misanthropy
    Options