Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Demo Reel Urban environment model (WIP)

ribrado
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
ribrado polycounter lvl 17
Hey all. I'm currently in my last semester working on my demo reel. It's still a working progress and I was hoping for some feedbacks. Be brutal as possible crazy.gif. I haven't had any textures yet and some buildings, cars, etc are still being constructed. laugh.gif

Man stupid yahoo ...no hot linkin

demotest5.jpg
demotest4.jpg
demotest3.jpg
demotest2.jpg
demotest1.jpg

Replies

• System
    Offline / Send Message
    System admin
    looks good so far. i've been at this place:-).
    I think you have some odd and useless polygons. for example on the top of the buildings but also on the front.
    good luck with uv's and texturing.
  • Daz
    Offline / Send Message
    Daz polycounter lvl 18
    Yeah, any reason why you're leaving polys with more than 4 sides in there? That's a little sloppy for realtime work. Most game engines will probably deal with it, but you're far better off arranging the topology and flipping edges yourself instead of leaving that up to the engine.
  • Benjie
    Offline / Send Message
    Benjie polycounter lvl 17
    I think you got some wasted polys, it looks like you could separate a lot of things from the main object. You do not need many of those edges, I hope Chris Holden does not mind but I am going to suggest going to his tutorial: http://chrisholden.net/tutor/modular.htm
    It helped me with my buildings and it could help you

But the whole scene looks good, just fix up those few things.
  • Phobos
    Offline / Send Message
    Phobos polycounter lvl 18
    Hey Remy.

The scene looks pretty good so far. I'd definately suggest you take a look at chris's tutorial. If you were going to break this up and import it into a game engine the more modular the better. That way the engine will have an easier time culling out objects in pieces instead of a whole building.