Home General Discussion

Ok, I got some real bad reviews, now what?

Withers
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Withers polycounter lvl 18
This may sound like a whining rant, but I'm legitimately looking for a little advice here.
Since this is the place that sank my ship, I thought it the best place to ask for a life preserver.

After a couple of years of visiting Polycount, I finally sucked up the guts to ask for a c&c here the other day, and it didn't go very well. Now I cannot say I'm surprised about my 3d being panned, I knew I wasn't really very good yet. I have only been at it a few years, I have never been solely focused on it, and I have not kept up with the times at all. (I still box model everything)

My confusion is this, I had hoped the fact that I was a good traditional artist and a very well rounded tech guy would overshadow my lack of 3d skills, and it hasn't. I even specifically chose a school that would give me more then just 3d, because I was not sure I wanted that specialized of a degree. But now it appears that all I gained was a rudimentary knowledge of about 10 different tech arts, and no specific ability in any of them.

Not only that, but it appears that I am not quite the traditional artist I thought I was either. Again, I certainly did not consider myself Da Vinci, but I have been obsessed with art since I was a kid, and I legitimately thought I was better then anyone I personally know.
During my critique, several people mentioned how shoddy my 2d was, and it was even brought up that I seemed more like a tech guy with some applications then a guy with any artistic ability/talents.

I'm glad this all happened, and it really opened my eyes, but now I'm kinda wandering aimlessly trying to figure out where to go from here. It is amazing how the foundation of my life could be shaken so dramatically by the words of a half dozen strangers on a web forum, but it absolutely has.