Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WW2 accessories

Misanthropy
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
Misanthropy polycounter lvl 17
Hi, I am newly register to this site, hopefully I am posting the stuff correctly.
These are some of the stuff I have done on my own time. I am currently a student at AI-Vancouver. And if all goes well these things will be accessories for the characters I will create in the next quarter.

The objects include mess kit, canteen, bag and two guns in which they are the mp40 and walther p38.
They are quite high poly for games, it is possible these models be used as normal map models.

accessories_f.th.jpg

mp40_f.th.jpg

waltherp38_f.th.jpg

Replies

• Daz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Daz polycounter lvl 18
    Hey Misanthropy, and welcome. I've built many of the models shown here to very high resolution, but showing them in your thread would be rude smile.gif
    For the most part they look pretty good, but there is something bugging me about the MP40 that seems off. It seems like you're missing the front bracket for the strap, and the hexagonal 'nut' at the start of the barrel? But perhaps this is a different model than the one I'm used to seeing? ( enter stage left Scott Ruggels )
    http://endoshoji.com/link-data/Marushin-MG/mp40-f.jpg

Also I think the helmet shape needs work. It's very very hard to get absolutely spot on, but worth it. I also don't recognise that design of canteen either, but it may simply be that it looks odd to me without the bakelite cup on top.

Authenticity and accuracy aside, my main crit is one of modeling technique. It seems to me that you are working in a strange 'mid' resolution. Probably too high for realtime, and yet really not high enough fgr pre-rendered assets or normal map generation models. If that was their intention, I'd think about using a subdivision technique to improve some of your polygonal faceting.