Home Technical Talk

Original Quake 3 weapons

mike1000
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
mike1000 polycounter lvl 18
Hi guys I am new to modding. I know this might be a noob question but I made a M60 weapon model for quake 3 and I really want to put the M60 model in Quake 3 as it's own weapon but I don't know how to. Are there any pacific scripts I need to make for this. Looking forward to sugesstions.

Replies

• killingpeople
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    killingpeople polycounter lvl 18
    did you try searching google for a tutorial?
  • mike1000
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yea I did, I only got a tutorial of how to replace a already existing Q3 weapon in the game. I really will like to have a weapon act as itself like you'll have a machine gun at 1 and s M60 at 0 . I am aware of the problems this might cause with maps but I jsut want to try it out. Trial and error hopefully I'll learn something.
  • JKMakowka
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JKMakowka polycounter lvl 18
    Can't be done with out significantly changing the Quake 3 code, which of course is possible now that the sourcecode has been GPLed by id software.

But it isn't that easy.
  • mike1000
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I think I found a way. If you can extract the pk3 contents from Pak 1 they have note pads where script files are I saw a selection where it said weapon configuration and weapons inventory. if I follow the basic flow of the previous weapon scripts in the document maybe I can pull it off but like you said it will be difficult. Well thanks anyway I'll keep you informed on my progress.
  • CheapAlert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CheapAlert polycounter lvl 18
    Actually, those files are priority scripts for bots.
  • jzero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jzero polycounter lvl 18
    It would be easier to simply replace the assets in the default machinegun slot.