Home Collaboration & Unpaid Work

Revolutionary mod in search of talent - Dreamscape

Canuck
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Canuck polycounter lvl 18
Hi Guys smile.gif

I’m Canuck smile.gif. I’m actually an employee at IBM. My work mainly involves anything and everything to do with C/C++ compilers. And as you would probably guess, I am not satisfied with my job. My ultimate dream is to work in the game industry. Therefore, I am dedicating huge portions of my time towards a project called Dreamscape: Pin Point Blank.

Dreamscape is a Third-Person Shooter. For those of you who have played Max Payne, you will feel right at home. The game mechanics are similar. One of the differences is that we will not have a health system. Instead, we will have a realistic pin point system as explained below.

tps_fps.jpg

As a computer scientist, I believe that all great things come from great preparation. The approach we want to take at Lucid Thought Productions is similar to what a software engineer would refer to as the waterfall model. This approach can be understood by the following flow chart:

waterfall.GIF

As a regular member of the team, you will not have to understand the details of this methodology, as most of this jargon will be handled by upper level team members.

We will work in phases. Therefore, we expect our team members to be patient. We will not begin developing until we feel it is the right time to do so.

Currently, we are at the analysis phase.

scapey.gif

The mod, Dreamscape, is set in San Francisco, California. These are some of the features that are planned at this stage: