Home Technical Talk

Smoothing groups+normal maps?

ymalaika
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
ymalaika polycounter lvl 18
Hello polycounters

I'm a normal mapping novice who is currently practicing with the technique and hoping to achieve a higher skill/comfort level.

I'm working on understanding how any smoothing group info I have on my low detail model is getting baked into the normal map.

I thought other beginners might benefit from seeing an example of how smoothing groups on the low res mesh are affecting the normal map directly:

NMcompare.gif

Now, I was expecting any smoothing group info in the high detail mesh to get baked in, but was surprised at first to see smoothing in the low detail mesh having an effect.

I had been thinking of Normal maps with the "clay detail over a simple faceted styrofoam mass" analogy. Smoothing groups themselves don't affect geometry, but rather how normals are interpolated across a surface during rendering. I thought the smoothing groups of the low detail mesh shouldn't be affecting the Normal map at all.

But I think I get it now. It seems more intuitive for me to think about normal maps as storing the difference between the "apparent when rendered" normals of the two meshes, not the actual geometry or surface curvature. So in the examples above, the normal map is essentially "reversing out" any smoothing on the low detail mesh.

Now, the question I'm left with is:

Should I use separate smoothing groups on the low detail mesh at all?

One one hand, it seems that the "smoother" normal map generated by the uniformly smoothed low detail mesh would be less prone to artifacts in-game. These seam artifacts are noticable on extreme closeup when I render in max, but they're not terrible. They become more prominent in the viewport, and may be unacceptable in-game, depending on the engine.

NMmapseam.jpg