Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

(High Poly) Tough game grunt space marine #558672

Wyeth
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Wyeth polycounter lvl 18
O.K., so the subject matter isn't exactly the most creative... sue me. He's a high poly space marine. They're fun to model! What can I say...

Anywho, armor modeled in Max 8 beta (Edit Poly/SubD), organics in ZBrush. This is my first mostly complete high poly character so it's quite a few more polygons (roughly 1.9 million) than are probably necessary. I'm still learning the intricacies of everything and I imagine my next one will be pruned down quite a bit. I'd say it probably took me maybe 30 hours or work on random nights and weekends? All in all a rather inordinate amount of time, but hey I was learning as I went. Next one will only be faster!

Currently I'm working on tweaking the hands... for some reason I can't get the shape of the fingers right.. they look good in Zbrush and then I bring them back into Max and they look terrible. So I'm still working that out. His legs above the knee are also a bit thin, but in order to fix that I need to remodel the armor, so I'm taking a break before I tackle all of that.

Anywho, I'm open to further design suggestions and of course aesthetic critiques. I hope you enjoy.

wyeth_marine_strip_thumb.jpg

P.S. Hello to Wolf, Goose, Bobo, Juan, DH, all you other jerks I never talk to anymore wink.gif

Replies

• Ramucho
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ramucho polycounter lvl 18
    Man that armor rox! especially the back, but it lacks of details in the organical parts. Keep up the good work!
    Btw how are max 8 new modelling tools, what do u think about them?
  • shotgun
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    shotgun polycounter lvl 19
    the armors sits real nice and tight on his body,
    this is a good example of 'how it gets done'.