Home Technical Talk

Rendering problem

sil7erfo}{
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
sil7erfo}{ polycounter lvl 18
I'm new to Max, I have 7 and have been using it for about a month now. I'm currently rendering a scene that is a motorcycle shop, but nothing looks right at all. The .avi is washed out with white when I watch it. I tried to change a bunch of stuff that I didn't know what it was and changed the renderer to mental ray but it didn't make anything better. Mental ray's renderings are too dark to see. What am I doing wrong?

Replies

• ScoobyDoofus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ScoobyDoofus polycounter lvl 19
    It will be difficult to diagnose your problems with no images. Try to render out some still frames, showing this problem, and present them here for people to review.

Switching from the Default scanline renderer to mental ray is not a good solution to gamma adjust your rendered video.
  • sil7erfo}{
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here's a screen shot of one still and the wireframe. The still shows another problem that I can't seem to fix. What's supposed to be yellow paint in the parking lot is a black hole. I don't understand why. I tried to take a [ctrl + print screen] however the pic of the movie didn't show up in the bitmap that I ended up with.

turbo2cc.jpg
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So... what should be yellow is see-thru? Check and make sure the texture doesn't have an alpha chanel. Are you painting the yellow parts on a texture then applying that to a sinlge plane?
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    Hey that looks like a cool shop.