Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Just started Max. First environment

ExMachina
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
ExMachina polycounter lvl 18
I've been using Max7 for about 3weeks now. I'm currently taking an intro modeling class at AI Washington, but all we're doing is lighting boxes, spheres, etc. I couldn't wait so I started playing around with shapes, lights, stretching and pulling verts, playing with textures in the program and here's what I came up with. Lemme know what u think.

MilesEnvironmentView1.jpg

SecretLab.jpg

LabExperiment2.jpg

Oh yeah and thank u thank u thank you to Poopinmymouth for coming to the school and lecturing. Seeing him fly around Max and model was mind blowing to me. It may have been nothing to him, but I just started and was just amazed. I started making the broken figure inside the little capsule after his lecture. good stuff. Looking forward to your next one. Awesome stuff on ur page btw.

Replies

• adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    adam polycounter lvl 19
    Hey, welcome to Polycount. Some things to consider for your environment:

I really haven't much of an idea of what this scene is. Some sort of capsule in someones basement?

Your texture resolutions are inconsistant throughout the scene. To help you with this, when you're UVing your model use a checkered texture (b/w squares). This way as you're UVing the model you'll see where certain faces are at a higher/lower resolution than other faces. A good example of this in your scene are the bricks on the walls. They look too stretched horizontally. Then compare the bricks to you ground texture - which is a higher resolution than the walls.

Also, the canister/capsule thing is just sorta sitting there on the floor. Nothing around it to suggest its purpose or to show that its being held up by something (or is it attached to the ceiling and we just can't tell?).