Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Need help with concepting

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
nkoste polycounter lvl 18
I thought I'd pimp this in a very early wip state in hope that someone give me some crits and commments throughtout the process. I'm not very good with a pen and even though I've finished quite a few skins I have never really finished a concept drawing to the point where others might consider using it. I need to practice.
I've finally layed down a sketch that I'm pretty happy with. I want to make a detailed, shaded drawing, but I've actually never done this so any pointers or maybe some guidelines how to step through this. Links to tutorials will also be appreciated.

I'm working in Photoshop.

Thanks in advance

dude_2.jpg

Replies

• Enix
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Enix polycounter lvl 18
    Well, color wise i would suggest darker colors, but thats just my personal opinion, i enjoy looking at dark colors. Just appeals to me when you see well blended dark colors, and maybe throw in some light colors for balance. Errr... If you are asking for crits on the concept itself, i think the nose looks a bit strange, thats the only thing i see that seems to stick out. Looks like a fun character to model.
  • moose
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    moose polycount sponsor
    id suggest working on refining the line art - once you do a scratchy sketchy thing, create a new layer, drop the first layer down to 5% opacity, and draw over it, being cleaner and more precise. You can continue to refine your lines this way until you feel comfortable. You can also go back in and erase of of the extra lines that dont define the form to tighten the drawing up, make it easier to read.
  • shotgun
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    shotgun polycounter lvl 19
    a humble attempt to help you get started?

pqpoqp.jpg