Home General Discussion

average cost for artist

jaybcorreia
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
jaybcorreia polycounter lvl 18
Hi everyone I am new to polycount and I wanted to know how much does it cost on an independent level to charge or recieve money for art services. ex if I was to hire an artist for some concept art, and 3D art how much would that come up to. and so on and so forth. thank you for taking the time to read my post.

Jason

Replies

• gauss
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    gauss polycounter lvl 18
    the only catch-all answer to this question is "it depends". there are a lot of factors to consider. when i do contract work, i've found the easiest way to get to a figure is take whatever figure you're working with for a piece and then come up with an hourly/weekly/yearly salary based roughly on that estimate. that number should sound right. point being you shouldn't be making the hourly equivalent of 100k a year, but it also shouldn't be minimum wage. and just talk to your client, you can work out what you both think is fair and works well for everyone involved. communication is always key for this (or any) business.
  • Ryno
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ryno polycounter lvl 18
    Also take into account that not all artists are equal. You might some half-assed hobbiest who'd be willing to work for eight bucks an hour, but would give you terrible art, or a seasoned old pro that bills out at $100 per hour, yet does phenomenal work, both in quality and speed of production. Or it could be the other way around.

Review samples before hiring, and make sure that the artist whom you hire is capable of fulfilling the tasks that you need for the price you want.
  • pogonip
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pogonip polycounter lvl 18
    I'd budget 1000-1500/week for a good artists time ....maybe double that for an artist in the Calibur of say Feng Zsu or Craig Mullins or Sean Mills
  • cholden
    Options