Home Technical Talk

Self training and sculpture

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
EmAr polycounter lvl 18
I am a student of materials enineering(2nd year(I'm 19 btw.)) and it's just fun to study this subject. But looking forward, what I really want to do is graphics. I was interested in 3d before I got in the university but there was(is) no school/program related to computer art in my country(I live in Turkey) yet. So I thought it would be ok to study engr'g and also practice graphics by myself by that time. But now I have realized I had a drastic lack of traditional skills(drawing for example). So I started practicing drawing. It seems to be going fine. And here's the issue. There are many elective courses at the university including drawing. But there's also a course for sculpture which has an 8 hrs./week studio work. And I don't have enough time to take both of them. I'm not sure through which one I can get myself to have better skills for thinking-in-3d and visualizing what I have in my mind(concepting is the right word for this perhaps). I know it essentially requires hard work through each way but I can't decide which to take.
Thanks for any opinions.

Replies

• Daz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Daz polycounter lvl 18
    Hi EmAr,