Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Variag Peasant

polycounter lvl 19
Offline / Send Message
Joshua Stubbles polycounter lvl 19
Haven't pimped anything in a long time. I started working on a mod for Rome: Total War, based on Tolkien lore. The mod takes place about 70 years after Aaragorn's death, with middle earth falling into shambles.
I'm a prop/enviornment artist, but these guys wanted me to make some characters instead. So please be a bit forgiving when it comes to my anatomy and badly painted char textures wink.gif

There are a few issues as well, with the bone skinning. These will be resolved soon. The funky yellow on the guy's arm is from the lighting in the level. I'll be creating 4 additional LOD meshes, dropping all the way down to 80 polys.

vpes1.jpg
vpes2.jpg
vpes3.jpg
vpes4.jpg
vpes5.jpg

Replies

• johnwoo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    johnwoo polycounter lvl 18
    Very nice work Vassago..as far as I can see there is good use of polygon's and texture space usage...no crits from me...with the lighting problem have you tried looking at the face normals? could need a smoothing group maybe inside the sleeve?...worth a try if you have'nt tried it as of yet (just never seen any discrepencies like that before..will you be posting the LOD versions aswell?....all the same good stuff man...
  • _Shimmer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    _Shimmer polycounter lvl 18
    actually this stuff looks very nice until it comes to the ngame scenes itself. For some reason it just looks crappy somwhow. Maybe that an lighting issue

The model + texture looks very good, well balanced and stuff. The texture looks damn good (yet a bit too much brown), the head could be right out of bobos mind (got inspired eh?). I would wish to see some colorvariation somehwe.
    Can you show us a close up of the head?

And hey, if you have more time, just post yur stuff, very cool.
  • KDR_11k
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KDR_11k polycounter lvl 18