Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

shroom house

dabu
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
dabu polycounter lvl 18
Hey guys,

Started a new environment model, hopefully to be completed by GDC, in a month. Im going off of my own art, a sculpture I made back in high school. Not an exact duplicate, just inspirational.

Wanted to make it higher poly, but not sure what a reasonable count would be, once all the details are in. Im guessing it will be around 15k, but I would go higher if it was appropriate, I'm still kinda new at this.

Working out the BSP right now, and then will add floating details on top of it., like doors, windows, little plants, etc
current count is around 2700 tris.

Feedback wanted, I'm not even sure how to go about texturing this thing later on, or if having floating geo is acceptable.

TIA

cheers

dabu

2.jpg1.jpg

Replies

• cholden
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18
    Fantastic start, always great to see environments. smile.gif

Try not to lose the girth of the stalk at the top, and when you get to the top of the mushroom, warp it up a bit from the concept so that it looks more natural.

What type of gameplay do you intent to use this level with? Looks like a platformer style level.

If by floating geometry you mean putting map objects everywhere, this is very acceptable. smile.gif
    For example, all those 'rocks' around the windows, and stacked at the base could be the same object. For organic levels I've worked on recently, I'll model three or four rocks of difference size/style and copy them all over the place. These map objects don't have to use many triangles, so they won't eat up your budget. They can also cover much of the original level geometry, allowing the designer to clean up a lot of these polygons.