Home General Discussion

Email names affect chances of getting hired?

RageUnleashed
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
RageUnleashed polycounter lvl 18
So I was wondering; is it best to get an email that has your name or something more formal when emailing out your resume? currently my email is using either the name rageunleashed or chunkygibber, but would that cause employers within a game company to not take my emails as seriously? What have those of you who've gotten hired used as email names? Something formal or your net callsigns?

Replies

• tubboy
  • KeyserSoze
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KeyserSoze polycounter lvl 18
    I'm just an aspiring hobbyist, so I'm far from an authority on the subject, but I don't imagine it would make much of a difference. It might have a slight subconscious affect on the person receiving your resume (using your full, real name might seem more professional... or maybe it'd be perceived as lacking personality), but I doubt anyone would say, "Hey! We can't hire this guy. I mean, just look at his email address! There's no way we could hire this guy." I think the important thing is that your email address should be 1. short, 2. easy to remember, and 3. have no goofy characters or underscores. Other than that, I don't think it's something to worry about wink.gif.
  • PaK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PaK polycounter lvl 18
    if your work is really good, none of these things matter. As long as your username won't offend anyone, or embarrass you, you should be fine.

I use my real anme (first and last) for both my corporate and my personal email account. Only my yahoo and hotmail have handles (Russimama accually is Uncle Ross in Ghujurati so....it's not silly at all)

-R
  • kleinluka
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kleinluka polycounter lvl 18
    What about poopinmymouth
  • Josh_Singh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Josh_Singh polycounter lvl 18