Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

needing help with texturing >_<

ngon master
Offline / Send Message
almighty_gir ngon master
ok well im very new to texturing, heres a model and skin that ive been working on lately. ive got the muscles down (even tho my anatomy is a bit off im sure) it looks how i want it to. and im REALLY happy with how the boots turned out. this is my first decent attempt at skinning a model.

but im stuck with the bandages on his arms, i dont know how to make them look very good :S

wip5dn.jpg

Replies

• Josh_Singh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Josh_Singh polycounter lvl 18
  • almighty_gir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    almighty_gir ngon master
  • adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    adam polycounter lvl 19
    One thing you should be doing before painting something unfamiliar is a little bit of research and scavenging.

http://images.google.com is your friend for this type of stuff.

bandage.jpeg
    band5.jpg
    bandage.jpg

That said, you're really only using 1 colour for the low-lights that are defining the shadows on the bandages and where the strips overlap one another. I'd say go even darker with it (but keep the brown that you have). It looks like you're using some sort of canvas texture for an overlay already which is really helping the overall look.

Hope this helps smile.gif
  • dig dog dig
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dig dog dig polycounter lvl 18
    Your off to a great start, I like the texture of the muscle fibres.

With the muscle areas try to mix in some complementary colours, purple and grey in the shadows and perhaps a slight bit of pink into the highlights. Overall it's looking a little flat atm, I'd suggest using a dark blue-grey to shade where muscles cast shadows on each other and add some specular highlights to the creases where the muscle groups join/intersect.
  • almighty_gir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    almighty_gir ngon master