Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My first character model..

Mr.Reacto
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Mr.Reacto polycounter lvl 18
Hello.. I have always been dreaming of making a model for Quake3 arena like 3 years ago... And today, I have finally making my first model(In wings3d). The model has been constructed in Wings3D from scratch.

elchucka.jpg

Though it still needs some skinning and animation.. though my next step is getting to skin the model.

The model has been seperated into 3 peices.. The head, the upperbody, the lowerbody. I tottaly apologize for the head model being a sphere pretty much.

any feedback??

p.s. Yes, I'm still new to all of this.

Replies

• KevinCoyle
    Offline / Send Message
    KevinCoyle polycounter lvl 18
    Not too bad for a first attempt. The positives are that you have extra geometry around the elbows and knees so the model won't fold when it deforms which is good, and you've attempted to work in some details.
    The negatives are the body is pretty shapeless, his torso looks basically like a block and his arms and legs are perfectly straight which isn't natural. A good thing to do would be to find (or draw) some references of at least a front and a side view and put them on planes in your scene so you can get a better body shape when modeling, like this...

reference setup

secondly, a sphere is not the best thing to start out with for a head, when poly modeling, a box is usually what you'll start out with, and begin shaping it to the desired shape and level of detail. There are many tutorials out there on box modeling heads and bodies which you'll want to check out.
  • Josh_Singh
    Offline / Send Message
    Josh_Singh polycounter lvl 18
    It's always good to see someone taking their first baby steps into the world of 3d.
    For a first model, it's good. Keep learnin' it will be cool to see you get it into quake.
  • Mr.Reacto
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the comments...