Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Old West style pistol

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Hollowmind polycounter lvl 18
I didn't do the model. I just did the textures to get some practice and to do something new. This is my first attempt at skinning a weapon, painting metal, and using bump and spec maps. Thought I'd post it here and get some crits on it.

No lights, 100% self-illumination
outlaw_render2.jpg

1 spot 2 omnis, 0% illumination (I'm very noobish with lighting so please feel free to crit that too, hehe):
outlaw_render3.jpg

Here are the flats:
Diffuse
Bump
Spec

So give me some crits. smile.gif I'm always looking to improve.

Replies

• Steakhouse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Steakhouse polycounter lvl 18
    Looks pretty authentic but I've not gone out of my way to cross check any reference. My first thought was "damn that thing is filthy", but I suppose that's ok if the thing has seen a lot of unforgiving use and little maintenance. I would suggest though that if you wish to keep it with a worn look think of adding in so sharper wear mark along the harsher edges. Some cleaner chips and abrasions along the edges of the cylinder would be a good place too start, and maybe some residual gunpowder toward the front of the barrel (careful with that though it can be overdone). Finally you might want to think about adding an indent behind the hammer so it has someplace to bend back into, I'm pretty certain that some sort of slot or fixture would be there. That of course means reference images.
  • FatAssasin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    FatAssasin polycounter lvl 18