Home Technical Talk

Shading Technique

jehuty
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
jehuty polycounter lvl 18
hallo,

i am wondering if there are tutorials out there where you learn... well different techniques of shading a picture... but i mean not where to but shadow and light... is more like how to draw the shading in photoshop... how do i get a real good gradiant made with a airbrush or brush in PS??? how do i make it look real... that's what i am interested in?! can somebody help?

thx
jehuty

Replies

• KDR_11k
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KDR_11k polycounter lvl 18
    I think that's explained in "Drawing on the right side of the brain", which is what the majority of people here will recommend you for learning basic drawing techniques.
  • anubis2k4
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    anubis2k4 polycounter lvl 18
    im not an expert but to make it look real you have to stop useing lines and use shadeing to make the shape
  • lkraan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lkraan polycounter lvl 18
    There are good video tutorials on the polycount site.
    They don't really show what "brush" to use but it shows the whole process how to get from a blank image to a cool skin.
  • jehuty
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ok, i have all this videos from polycount but i don't get how they do a nice smooth shading over, for example the face or muscles... i mean i wanna stick with the way to first make a greyscale texture on one layer and add color behind that and then make a overlay... i guess for cloth that will work but i don't know if that works for faces... i am new to that technique and my major problem is to make a real smooth looking shading/gradiant for heights and depths... so that's what i am asking for... how do you guys make it look smooth?
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18