Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Creating a Servo-Skull: PBR, Hand-Painted, 3D Printing, and Painting Techniques

triangle
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Tesla_Berserk triangle

Hello everyone! My name is Ilia (TeslaBerserk), and I'm a 3D character artist. I’ve worked on hand-painted textures and 2D art in the past, and I’m also a professional miniature painter, primarily focusing on Warhammer 40k.

I've been a dedicated fan of the Warhammer universe for over 20 years, and creating a servo-skull presented a unique challenge for me.

I’ll guide you through the process of modeling, creating PBR and hand-painted textures, and 3D printing, followed by painting the model.

Software Used:

1. Reference Collection

For this project, I used my personal reference libraries on anatomy and Warhammer 40k.

2. Modeling in ZBrush

Since the primary goals were texturing and 3D printing, there was no need to focus on topology optimization. To create the low-poly version, I used several iterations of ZRemesher or edited the base primitive shape with ZModeler. The skull base was taken from ZBrush's default geometry.

ZBrush can be intimidating for beginners due to its complex interface. To save time and avoid frustration, I recommend using "Enable Customize UI" to place frequently used tools on the main panel.

Each object in the scene has both high and low poly versions, with appropriate prefixes (_high & _low) in their names.

3. UV Mapping in RizomUV

RizomUV is, in my opinion, the best software for UV unwrapping and packing. To speed up workflow, I use hotkeys:

• C - Create seam

• Y - Show seams

• U - Unwrap

• I - Isolate

• O - Optimize

• P - Pack

I created separate UV maps for each type of object: skull, mechanical parts, printer, and legs.

4. PBR Texturing in Substance Painter

I imported the low-poly mesh with UV maps. To avoid overloading the hardware, I didn't use UDIM, as Substance Painter does not support Multi UV sets (though 3DCoat handles this well).