Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Critique needed for junior Environment Artist

Hi everyone,

My name is Phil, I'm a self taught environment artist and I'm in need of some critique on what could better my portfolio! I think I might lack a piece with a more elaborate model (working on that right now), maybe more modular stuff too!

I had the chance to be considered for a junior position at Eidos Montreal this past winter, did 3 interviews plus an art test, but unfortunately someone with experience got the job! I got some great feedback on my work though, I've been told to not give up, that I just need to get that opportunity and that it was a matter of time.

So yeah, looking for critique on what my weaknesses are and what could give me advantage over other applicants when the opportunity arise!

Thanks!

Philippelheureux.artstation.com

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Hey Phil, first off, cool art :) I'm just going to write down what's going through my head as I study your work.

Gasoline enviro: Cluster vegetation together. Current it's scattered randomly and doesn't make much sense. Terrain needs some blended layers too. Current terrain material doesn't really look like realistic dried dirt. Maybe desaturate and brighten? Texturing for gas pump has too much random noise, needs finessing, more thought put into the damage. I've not seen an old gas pump that has this sort of surface details. Condense texture maps to one image. Should probably use a packed map for Occlusion, Roughness, Metal, that's the way textures/materials are usually handled now. First curve on the gas pump tube should have more polygons. Story: Why are there 2 gas pumps in the middle of the desert? There is a story here, but its not being told through the image.