Home Career & Education

Artist's Block: Lack of Ideas and Self-Doubt After 2.5 Years of Blender Experience - Help Needed!

Hello everyone,

I am Miki and I have been creating 3D animations with Blender for 2.5 years now. Before that, I worked in the photo and video industry for 2 years. I currently also work as a freelance 3D artist and occasionally get commissions.

After a while, I realized that my strength is definitely in modeling. I find it very easy to recreate things that already exist or to replicate designs that someone else has already created.

However, I have been facing a major creative block for a long time now and I am slowly reaching my wit's end. Therefore, I wanted to ask the community if you have/had similar problems and how you were able to overcome them.

My specific problem is that I simply don't have any ideas of my own for what to create. Whenever I see other 3D artists on social media, their designs totally inspire me and I often think that I would like to recreate something like that. But as soon as I'm in the creative process, I immediately question whether that's even my style and whether I want to do something like that in the future.

Before I started with 3D, I always had a lot of ideas. But now, after 2.5 years of learning 3D almost every day and acquiring the skill to use Blender, all my ideas are somehow gone. When I get commissioned work, I have no problem completing it. But when it comes to personal growth and my own projects, I always have this block.

I really want to keep growing, but I just don't know how. I would be grateful for any tips and maybe even suggestions for concrete exercises that I could do.

For your reference, I have attached links to my social media accounts and website where you can see some of my work.

https://www.mikinglo.de/archive

https://www.instagram.com/miki.nglo/

Thank you very much in advance!

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter