Home Career & Education

Does your school degree matter in any way in the games Industry?

TirvasFreeze
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
TirvasFreeze polycounter lvl 4
I am just really anxious right now with being afraid of my future due to my stupid mistakes, let's say you are an self taught artist currently at a college specialized for a field that is far away from art, for example economy. But you have been working on your portfolio for many years so you have a fairly good one. Is it such a big deal that because of my stupidity I will graduate in a field that is completely not art related and will it affect my job chances? 

I am so anxious that I've ruined my chances because I literally have nothing I could put in my "Education" sector in my Resume that is art related, I've always been told that the only thing that matters is your Portfolio but at the same if I look at any other resume from an artist they have all graduated in the field of art..

I would love to hear your advice what I should do now, should I just remove the education sector completely of my resume or just put it inside? How important is your degree in the AAA video games industry?

If possible I would really appreciate any examples of a resume that applies to my situation above, maybe you have been going through the same thing as I do and can give me an example of how a resume should look like.

Replies

• MikeF
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MikeF polycounter lvl 19
    I did plenty of hiring at my last job and education was never on my list of requirements, it was always portfolio first then interview to see if theyd be a good fit.

If youre looking to get hired internationally then a degree becomes more important, but as far as what i looked for in a candidate, it was just about what they could produce. Even in the case of two potential hires with nearly identical skillsets, education wouldnt be the tie breaker but more likely just experience.